Alaska Lieutenant Governor announces online voter registration system data exposure

Published: Dec. 3, 2020 at 4:26 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - Alaska Lieutenant Governor Kevin Meyer announced Thursday that data exposure occurred in Alaska’s Division of Elections online voter registration system, compromising the personal information of potentially 113,000 voters in the state.

According to Meyer, he was made aware of the incident on October 27th. Since then, the State IT Security Office, law enforcement, a computer forensics firm and the Division of Elections have been working to “determine the scope of the problem, secure databases, web applications, and comply with state law regarding this exposure of personal information records.”

The Lieutenant Governor explained that the exposure was perpetrated by a group of outside actors, though he was unable to provide information about who those are.

Vulnerable data, according to Meyer, includes birthdates and driver’s license information. At this time, no financial information has been compromised. “Although some voters’ personal information was exposed, the division has determined that no other election systems or data were affected. The division’s ballot tabulation systems, the 2020 general election results, and the state’s voter database remain secure,” he said.

Meyer emphasized that ballot counts were not directly affected by the data exposure, and that the primary goal of the perpetrators was to spread propaganda and to “shake voter confidence” in the election. “Just a couple days ago, U.S. Attorney General Barr announced that there was no evidence whatsoever of widespread voter fraud in the United States elections,” he said, adding, “We’ve been working diligently to understand the situation and to identify the extent of the exposure so that we can accurately and quickly inform the public and the affected individuals about what occurred.”

Meyer went on to say, “The State’s investigation is still ongoing. However, based on the preliminary findings and the robust review process already in place for elections, we have complete confidence in the 2020 general election results.”

“At this time the online voter registration system website is secure, fully functional, and the flaw has been corrected,” Meyer assured.

Voters whose information has been compromised will be notified by mail, as required by law, in the next couple of days, according to Meyer. Those affected will receive free credit monitoring through Equifax.

Voters can also check their status and get more information by calling 1-833-269-0003. More information can also be found at the Division of Elections website.

Copyright 2020 KTVF. All rights reserved.