Nicolas Petit takes Copper Basin 300 for the fourth straight time

Published: Jan. 11, 2021 at 7:19 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - Winning four straight titles is a hard task in sports, from the New York Yankees in Major League Baseball winning the World Series from 1949-53 to the New York Islanders winning four straight Stanley Cups from 1980-83.

In Alaska, Lance Mackey scored four straight Iditarod victories from 2007-10. Well another name can be added to those that have four-peated, and that is Nicolas Petit. Petit took down the Copper Basin 300 for the fourth straight year as he pushed his streak that dates back to 2018.

Petit’s results in the Copper Basin 300 since 2018:

YearTime (Day, Hour, Min.)

Petit was looking at a slim deficit after the Lake Louise checkpoint, being two minutes behind to Duluth, Minnesota’s Gunnar Johnson. He then made a small move to take a 19-minute lead heading into Sourdough Creek. After that, Petit used his veteran experience and savviness to pull off an impressive feat going towards to Meier’s Lake Roadhouse. He opened up a lead that grew to seven hours and 28 minutes, roughly 170 miles into the Copper 300. There the three-time defending champion rested before cruising his way through the checkpoint at Red Eagle Lodge and onto the finish line to claim his fourth title.

The Copper Basin 300 was littered with mushers hailing from Interior, Alaska which was led by Two Rivers’ Matt Hall who scored a fourth place finish representing the Smokin’ Ace Kennels. Hall ended his run with a time of two days, three hours and 57 minutes giving him his best finish since 2019 when took fifth. His best run came in 2016 when he claimed the championship over Ryne Olson.

Hall wasn’t the only musher from the Interior in the top-10, as Fairbanks’ own Deke Naaktgeboren took home ninth. Naaktgeboren finished with a time of two days, seven hours and 57 minutes, getting a chance to complete the Copper Basin after dropping out early in 2019.

Top 10 Copper Basin 300 Leaderboard:

MusherFinish (Day, Hour, Min.)
1. Nicolas Petit2:01:55
2. Gunnar Johnson2:02:44
3. Joar Ulsom2:02:45
4. Matt Hall2:03:57
5. Jacob Witkop2:04:01
6. Julie Ahmen2:04:47
7. Jeffrey Deeter2:06:41
8. Hunter Keefe2:07:02
9. Deke Naaktgeboren2:07:57
10. Dennis Kananowicz2:08:02

Copyright 2021 KTVF. All rights reserved.