2021 Iditarod Leaderboard

Published: Mar. 8, 2021 at 5:42 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - An Iditarod unlike any other began Sunday, where 47 teams took off from Deshka Landing, embarking on a 852-mile journey. The grueling sled dog race is not a race to Nome this year, but will navigate through what is being called the ‘Gold Loop Trial’, taking the traditional southern route to the Iditarod checkpoint and through the mining ghost town of Flat before returning on the southern route. Here is where some of the top mushers stand.

This article will be updated daily.

Friday, March 12 — 5:00 p.m.

The top three mushers have reached the McGrath checkpoint for a second time, as the leaders backtrack to Deshka Landing where the race started on Sunday. Four-time Iditarod Champion Dallas Seavey checked into McGrath at 9:32 a.m., followed by 2019 Yukon Quest Champion Brent Sass (12:42 p.m.). Willow veteran Wade Marrs also reached the checkpoint (1:41 p.m.), while Ryan Redington and Aaron Burmeister are the next mushers expected to reach McGrath. Talkeetna musher Rick Casillo scratched at 9:59 a.m. Friday at the Iditarod checkpoint “in the best interest of his team”, according to race officials.

Wednesday, March 10 — 6:00 p.m.

Mushers are on day Four of the altered Iditarod trail, let’s check in on who is leading the pack. Based on information from the Ophir checkpoint along the Iditarod trail, in the lead is Brent Sass.

Following Sass, are Aaron Peck, Mille Porsild, Ryan Reddington, and Aaron Burmeister currently running in 5th.

Tuesday, March 9 — 6:00 p.m.

The first musher into the McGrath checkpoint Tuesday was four-time champion Dallas Seavey, arriving at 4 p.m. with 14 dogs. With a “sizable” lead heading into the checkpoint, Seavey won the Alaska Air Transit Spirit of Iditarod Award as the first to McGrath, which is about 311 miles into the 850+ mile course. The next mushers expected into McGrath are Richie Diehl, Joar Leifseth Ulsom, Peter Kaiser and Travis Beals respectively. Mushers will soon need to make the decision on where and when to take their mandatory 24-hour rest. Fan favorite and three-time runner-up of the Iditarod, Aliy Zirkle, scratched Monday night. Read the details here.

Monday, March 8 — 5:30 p.m.

Although Ryan Redington was the third musher to enter the Rohn checkpoint, he was the first musher to exit, heading towards the Nikolai checkpoint at 4:11 p.m. with 12 dogs. Veteran Nic Petit was the first into Rohn at 1:54 p.m., followed by four-time Iditarod champion Dallas Seavey (3:03 p.m.). Aaron Burmeister was the most recent musher to reach Rohn (3:50 p.m.), while Matt Hall is expected to be the next musher heading into the checkpoint. Veteran musher Cindy Gallea was the first musher to scratch after Sunday’s start, scratching at 5:33 a.m. in Skwenta.

Copyright 2021 KTVF. All rights reserved.