Lathrop Girls Wrestling wins first state championship in program history

Updated: May. 29, 2021 at 7:44 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - Since a Girls Wrestling Team Title has been handed out at the ASAA High School State Championships, the Lathrop Malemutes program has only trended upward. After not placing in 2017, Lathrop leap-frogged the field to a third place finish in 2018. The ‘Mutes came up short in 2019, finishing runner-up to the North Pole Patriots 112-98. The COVID-19 pandemic pushed the traditional fall sport from 2020 to the spring of 2021 - and we know what happens to the Lathrop girls wrestling program as time passes - they get better. The Malemutes are now on top of the Alaska Girls State Wrestling podium as champions.

Lathrop edged out the previous state champions 177-145, led by four top-three finishes, including a pair of individual state titles. In the 112-division, Autumn Poland defeated North Pole’s Elizabeth Schumaker, a three-time defending state champion, 4-0 to claim her first individual championship.

“It is shock,” Poland said of her reaction following the victory. “Like, I did this. This is a three-time state champ that I was able to break down and beat. I’ve worked for this.”

Also picking up an individual state title, Kierstyn Bockert in the 125, defeating North Pole’s Macar Kobernuss by Fall at 1:06.

The Patriots saw seven total placements, including an individual championship from Emily Bellant in the 160, who finished runner-up in the 145 in 2019. West Valley placed a pair of grapplers in Mika Olson (125) and Alice Bent (235), each finishing fourth, while Hutchison’s Lydia Patterson (189) took 6th overall in her division. Complete placements for Interior girls wrestlers can be found below.

103Megan SpencerLathrop3rd
103Lexy ClementeLathrop4th
112Autumn PolandLathrop1st
112Elizabeth SchumakerNorth Pole2nd
112Kaylana NationsLathrop4th
119Aiyana ErhartLathrop4th
119AnnMarie D`HondtNorth Pole6th
125Kierstyn BockertLathrop1st
125Macara KobernussNorth Pole2nd
125Mika OlsonWest Valley4th
130Dakota DarbyNorth Pole2nd
130Danielle JohnsonLathrop3rd
130Abigail WhitlockNorth Pole6th
145Heaven MathenyLathrop4th
160Emily BellantNorth Pole1st
189Megan ParrishNorth Pole2nd
189Lydia PattersonHutchison6th
235Alice BentWest Valley4th
235Roane CookLathrop5th

Boys Division I

In a battle that went down to tallying up the final points, Colony edged Lathrop, 265-257.5, with the Malemutes improving upon their 3rd place finishes the last two seasons to place runner-up. Lathrop’s near-championship performance was led by 11 placements, including three individual state championships from Colton Parduhn (130), Jeremy Bockert (135) and Noah Curtis (285), who defeated the previous state champion in his class.

“It feels good just to know I stopped him from getting him his two-time, he is a real tough competitor but I had to come out on top this time,” Curtis said after victory. “It took a long time to get here, but we are finally here. The easy part is getting it, the hard part is keeping it, so we got to keep it going.”

The West Valley Wolfpack saw a 5th place finish from Peter Macchione in the 215-division, while North Pole did not have any grapplers place.

Complete placements for Interior Boys Division I Wrestlers can be found below.

103Ian WernerLathrop3rd
112Riley WilliamsLathrop4th
119Roberto Lechuga PorrasLathrop2nd
125Jayden StyerLathrop6th
130Colton ParduhnLathrop1st
135Jeremy BockertLathrop1st
140Kawaiola PattersonLathrop4th
145Aaron JohnsonLathrop3rd
152Jacob JohnsonLathrop4th
215Sean MichelLathrop2nd
215Peter MacchioneWest Valley5th
285Noah CurtisLathrop1st

Boys Division II

Glennallen took the DII crown, outscoring Bethel and Nome 150.5-113.0-108.5 respectively. Eielson placed four grapplers, including a pair of 2nd place finishes from Adam Jockusch (152) and Harrisen Wall (171). Hutchison’s Andrew Holman (21) also finished runner-up, while teammate Seth Briesmeister (189) took 5th. Delta’s Steven Warren placed 3rd overall in the 160-division. Complete placements for Interior Boys Division II Wrestlers can be found below.

125Jace ZaldivarEielson5th
130Nathaniel MayerEielson3rd
152Adam JockuschEielson2nd
160Steven WarrenDelta3rd
171Harrisen WallEielson2nd
189Seth BriesmeisterHutchison5th
215Andrew HolmanHutchison2nd

Complete results from the 2021 ASAA High School State Wrestling Tournament can be found here.

Copyright 2021 KTVF. All rights reserved.