Abramowicz, West Valley boys win Cross Country State Championships

Published: Oct. 12, 2021 at 8:03 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - The countless miles of training for high school cross country came down to this past weekend at the State Championship meet on the Bartlett Trails in Anchorage, featuring over 50 interior athletes.

One of the favorites heading into the state meet, West Valley senior Daniel Abramowicz proved to be the fastest in Alaska when he clocked in at 16 minutes and 12.0 seconds for his first individual state cross country title. Abramowicz headlined a Wolfpack program that featured four athletes in the top 20, claiming the team championship for the first time since 2013.

“We have had a really strong team, we have had amazing coaches and stuff, so to see that actually come to fruition and winning awards and stuff, it is just really amazing,” Abramowicz said after taking the state title. “It is like proving that we are still the Wolfpack and we can do what we can do.”

Teammate Shane Fisher had a top-five placement when he crossed the finish line at 16:50.3, ahead of Lathrop’s Benjamin Pilon, who took 12th at 17:04.0, while West Valley’s Joshua Baurick clocked in at 17:08.8 for 14th overall on less than ideal trails with recent snow and rain in the area.

“It was very muddy, I’ll say that,” Abramowicz added. “There were spots where I was just slipping all over and it was rocky too so you could feel your feet pounding, it was tough.”

In the Girl’s Division I landscape, Lathrop’s Abigail Haas the top runner out of the Interior, completing the 5-kilometer course in 20:07.2, good for 12th place. West Valley teammates Riga Grubis (20:34.4) and Evelyn Wool (20:36.2) placed 19th and 21st respectively, while Danika Dawley and Maria Mattox represented North Pole.

Monroe’s Gabe Angaiak paced interior runners in the Boy’s DII race at 19:03.5, while Delta’s Gabe Haas was not far behind at 19:11.1. Elliot Evans led Hutchison at 19:47.1, while Landon Ogburn represented Eielson at 21:31.1.

Rams senior Katie Bast took 16th overall in the DII Girl’s race at 21:55.9, followed right behind teammat Jeannie Cook at 22:03.6. Grace Pearson (24:41.2) was the lone runner out of Delta.

Copyright 2021 KTVF. All rights reserved.