Start order for Iditarod 50 announced

Iditarod 2022 sign up
Iditarod 2022 sign up(Austin Sjong)
Published: Feb. 26, 2022 at 11:04 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - With a week to the beginning of the race, the start order of the Iditarod’s 50th running is finally announced.

For 2022, there are 17 women and 32 men competing, 13 of which are rookies. Racers competing this year come from five different countries which include the United States, Canada, Norway, Sweden, Denmark and France. There are also five previous champions looking to reclaim the top spot once again for the half century birthday of the race.

The ceremonial start will be in downtown Anchorage at 10 a.m. on March 5. The official restart will take place in Willow the following day, March 6 at 2 p.m. Teams will take off in two-minute intervals.

For the interior, there are 14 racers to watch which include 8 women and 6 men. 5 of these racers are rookies, 4 of them coming from Fairbanks, and Julie Ahnen coming from Cantwell. Joining Ahnen, veteran Paige Drobny comes from Cantwell, while other communities being represented include Two Rivers, Healy and Nenana.

This include Bridget Watkins who’s earlier in the season suffered a moose attack with her team. This resulted in 4 dogs being detrimentally injured and Watkins heart broken. However, with 14 healthy dogs, Watkins felt compelled to let them race as they had been working so hard all year long. Watkins’ bib number is 36.

2Sean WilliamsChugiakUSA
3Nic PetitBig LakeUSA
4Michelle PhillipsCarcrossCanada
5Paige DrobnyCantwellUSA
6Martin MassicotteSt. TiteCanada
7Jessie HolmesBrushkanaUSA
8Ramey SmithWillowUSA
9Anna BeringtonWillowUSA
10Matt FailorWillowUSA
11Mats PettersonKirunaSweden
12Joar UlsomWillowUSA
13Hanna LyrekAltaNormway
14Erik KelleyWillowUSA
15Riley DycheFairbanksUSA
16Lev ShvartsWillowUSA
17Ryan ReddingtonWasillaUSA
18Richie DiehlAniakUSA
19KattiJo DeeterFairbanksUSA
20Dallas SeaveyTalkeetnaUSA
21Aaron PeckGrande PrairieCanada
22Joe TaylorFairbanksUSA
23Aaron BurmeisterNenana/NomeUSA
24Kristy BeringtonWasillaUSA
25Deke NaaktgeborenFairbanksUSA
26Anja RadanoTalkeetnaUSA
27Brent SassEurekaUSA
28Dan KaduceChatanikaUSA
29Julie AhnenCantwellUSA
30Mitch SeaveySterlingUSA
31Matt HallTwo RiversUSA
32Amanda OttoDenaliUSA
33Millie PorslidDenmark
34Jeff DeeterFairbanksUSA
35Ryne OlsonTwo RiversUSA
36Bridget WatkinsFairbanksUSA
37Peter KaiserBethelUSA
38Martin BuserBig LakeUSA
39Gerhardt ThiartCheboyganUSA
40Karin HendricksonWillowUSA
41Kailyn DavisFairbanksUSA
42Travis BealsSewardUSA
43Lisbet NorrisFairbanksUSA
44Sebastien Dos Santos BorgesChazey-BonsFrance
45Josh McNealEagle RiverUSA
46Chad StoddardTalkeetnaUSA
47Apayuaq ReitanKaktovikUSA
48Matt PeveglioEagle RiverUSA
49Yuka HondaHealyUSA
50Hugh NeffAnchorageUSA

Copyright 2022 KTVF. All rights reserved.