The White Mountains 100 has returned for 2022

Tune in for today's latest news stories on KXDF CBS News 13 at 5pm.
Published: Apr. 1, 2022 at 6:30 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - A walk in the White Mountains won’t do any good to meet the 40 hour deadline in the 100 mile race famed for it’s name. The White Mountains 100 has finally returned for a 2022 running.

Running, biking or skiing is the name of the race which was cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. However, after two years of absence, racers were eager to hit the trails once again as over 80 participants came to compete along the 100 mile course. For the 6th rendition of the race, the course would start at the trailhead of Wickersham Dome where the finish line also lay. As for the course itself, the participants would work their way down to Haystack Junction 17 miles past the start line and then climb to the highest point of the race at 2,400 feet of elevation and 22 miles later arrive at Cache Mountain Cabin. The racers would go onto to circle around at the farthest trail point and make their way over to Windy Gap Cabin leaving 38 miles to the finish. On their way to the finish, the racers began their upward journey to the Borealis LeFevre Cabin, followed by a sharp ascent and mild down hill drive to the finish line.

Defending champion Tyson Flaharty was among the contenders for 2022 and while he was unable to break any records with the soft snow caused by the warm weather, he did claim his third White Mountains 100 title. For the women, it was newcomer Ana Jager who wound up with the first place finish taking the title with over two hours between here and the next female finisher. Jager said that the first place finish was “special” since she came into the race not knowing what to expect and was primarily focused on not hitting the wall. Jager also said that she is now “intrigued” with her capabilities on the bike and wants to compete in more racers.

The top finishers for each discipline goes as follows for the men:

Fat Bike: Tyson Flaharty - 9:19

Ski: Jeremy Vandermeer - 14:41

Running: Austin Canning - 22:44

Women’s results.

Fat Bike: Ana Jager - 10:59

Ski: Shalane Frost - 13:34

Running: Jan Tomsen - 27:18

All time in hours and minutes.

Copyright 2022 KTVF. All rights reserved.