Fairbanks North Star Borough joins state with fireworks bans

Published: Jul. 1, 2022 at 6:12 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - The Alaska State Fire Marshal’s Office implemented a ban Thursday, June 30 on the personal use of fireworks around the state until further notice.

Areas affected include the Fairbanks North Star Borough, the Matanuska-Susitna Borough, Delta Junction and Tok.

According to the Department of Public Safety, the risk of fire over the coming weekend necessitated these bans.

This measure, however, does not apply to the use of fireworks for commercial displays that have already been permitted, unless there have been further bans by local governments.

These shows go through a rigorous safety review to get permitting.

Austin McDaniel, Public Information Officer with the Alaska Department of Public Safety said, “The Alaska State Fire Marshal’s Office, as well as your Alaska State Troopers, really encourage everyone to be fire-wise this weekend. There are a lot of wildfires spreading across the state. We have really dedicated wildland firefighters from within Alaska, as well as from the lower-48 up here helping us with that, so we’d really like to not contribute to any additional human-caused fires this weekend.”

Meanwhile, the Fairbanks North Star Borough on Friday, July 1 prohibited the use of fireworks in the borough outside of the cities of Fairbanks and North Pole.

North Pole has temporarily banned the sale of fireworks and discouraged their use over the holiday weekend.

The borough also announced Friday that it is suspending all firewood cutting on borough land until further notice due to conditions.

Those with a license to cut firewood will not need to reapply for it when the suspension ends, and if desired, the borough will extend the license’s length by the number of days the suspension lasts.

Copyright 2022 KTVF. All rights reserved.