Monroe Catholic Girls Basketball wins 2023 Mt. McKinley Bank Tournament

Published: Jan. 9, 2023 at 9:09 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - The Monroe Catholic Rams girls basketball team walked away champions of their 2023 Mt. McKinley Bank Tournament. The Rams were tied with Monroe ending the round robin with two wins and one loss. The tiebreaker was points allowed. The Rams allowing 108 points over three games to the Malemutes 122.

The Malemutes beat Soldotna, 39-36 and Grace Christian, 58-43. The Rams defeated Soldotna, 41-32, and Lathrop, 43-29.

Rams sophomore, Shannel Kovalsky won the tournament’s Most Valuable Player award. Kovalsky averaged 11.6 points per game in the tournament. Here’s the rest of the 2023 girls all-tournament team.

2023 Girls All-Tournament Team:

  1. MVP - Shannel Kovalsky (Monroe Catholic)
  2. Maggie Zaverl (Monroe Catholic)
  3. Tatyana Snowden (Monroe Catholic)
  4. TT Tagovailo (Lathrop)
  5. Ashlyn Parduhn (Lathrop)
  6. Ella Boerger (Grace Christian)
  7. Poppy Pidduck (Grace Christian)
  8. Sophie Lentfer (Grace Christian)
  9. Josie Sheridan (Soldotna)

On the boy’s side, Grace Christian went 3-0, and left Fairbanks as champions. The hosting Rams claimed the title of runner-up. Monroe only lost to Grace Christian (39-55) and beat Soldotna, 57-36, and Ketchikan, 55-35.

2023 Boys All-Tournament Team:

  1. MVP - Kellen Jedlicka (Grace Christian)
  2. Luke Lentfer (Grace Christian)
  3. Sloan Lentfer (Grace Christian)
  4. Joshua Ivanoff (Grace Christian)
  5. Stefan Felix (Monroe Catholic)
  6. Billy Bast (Monroe Catholic)
  7. JJ Parker (Ketchikan)
  8. Andrew Kleinschmidt (Ketchikan)
  9. Jakob Brown (Soldotna)

The next basketball tournament in the interior of Alaska is this weekend. The Lathrop Malemutes are hosting the 11th Annual Joe T. Classic. The four-team boys and girls round robin tournament will welcome the West Valley Wolfpack, Nome-Beltz Nanooks, Eielson Ravens, and Lathrop Malemutes. The first game is Thursday at 3:00 p.m. at Lathrop High School.