Blayne “Buddy” Streeper captures 2023 Open North American Championship

Streeper now second in all-time wins
Published: Mar. 20, 2023 at 9:33 PM AKDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) - Twenty mushers signed up for the “Granddaddy of them all:” The Open North American Championship (ONAC) sprint mushing race. Blayne “Buddy” Streeper finished second in two of the three days, but dominated on “moving day” to win his third straight title.

The first two days featured a 20.26 mile course. Anny Malo led Streeper by 18.8 seconds following Friday’s race. Saturday, which is also known as “moving day” was where Streeper would eventually secure his title. Streeper let his team loose Saturday which saw him post the fastest time on day two, leading Malo by 1:44.4. Even though Malo had a faster time on Sunday, it wasn’t enough to surpass Streeper.

After day two, Streeper was asked about feeling pressure heading into the final day, “Well, no,” Buddy responded. “Just the pressure -- if I want to put it on myself, but I’m not going to do that. I know I just have to go out, take it one mile at a time, one step at a time, and focus on bringing a happy, healthy team to the finish. It should be a good race.

On the final day, the track was extended to 28.2 miles. Day three was a good race for Streeper. He had the second fastest time only 9.9 seconds behind Malo. Streeper claimed first by a 1:34.5 margin.

Here is the full, 2023 ONAC results:

MusherHometownFinal Time
1. Buddy StreeperFort Nelson, British Columbia (CAN)225:43.2
2. Anny MaloSaint-Thomas, Quebec (CAN)227:17.7
3. Jake RobinsonBemidji, MN235:21.1
4. Michael TetznerBurg, Germany (EUR)237:24.1
5. Alix CrittendenBondurant, WY238:06.5
6. Andria BondSalcha, AK241:32.7
7. Laura BontragerNewberry, MI241:32.7
8. Olivier Lemier (Rookie)Sainte-Monique, Quebec (CAN)243:03.5
9. Tony BlanfordAnchorage, AK243:10.5
10. Don CousinsCrooked Creek, Alberta (CAN)245:27.2
11. Andi HuettonNenana, AK246:07.0
12. Nikki SeoSouth Korea/Salcha, AK246:15.7
13. Marvin KokrineFairbanks, AK248:37.5
14. Mitchell JacobsonTuktoyaktuk, Northwest Territory (CAN)267:20.0
15. Charlie LaBoda (Rookie)Hovland, MN278:32.2
16. JP NorrisWillow, AK287:46.6
17. Eddy DaytonBig Lake, AKSCR
18. Rob PeeblesWestlock, Alberta (CAN)SCR
19. Beth CallisFairbanks, AKSCR
20. Clyde Mayo Jr.Fairbanks, AKSCR

Buddy Streeper now owns his ninth ONAC title, with victories in 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, and 2023. Diving deeper in the record books, Streeper now has sole control of second-most ONAC titles, passing George Attla who won eight between 1969-1987. Streeper now chases after Egil Ellis who won twelve ONAC’s from 1999-2012.

“The two majors in the sport is Anchorage (Fur Rondy) and Fairbanks (ONAC),” followed Streeper. “George has ten Rondy’s and eight here. He had eighteen total. Now I have ten (Rondy’s) and nine (ONAC). Now I have the most of that. It was pretty cool... One of his boys came and told me... That was pretty cool to be a part of. So, it was a great weekend.

2022′s race had seventeen mushers. 2023 had twenty. The sport of dog mushing is still alive. Mushers traveled near and afar to compete, and the Jeff Studdert Racegrounds at ADMA were filled with spectators. Here’s to looking forward with what’s to come in 2024.