Allen Moore wins third Yukon Quest

Published: Feb. 13, 2018 at 10:30 PM AKST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

We have a winner for the 2018 Yukon Quest.

Allen Moore crossed the Whitehorse finish line this morning to be crowned Quest Champion for the 3rd time.

Moore finished the race in 9 days, 20 hours, and 1 minute.

For Comparison, Matt Hall won the race last year with a 10 day 1 hour and 7 minute time.

Moore now joins some elite company as a three time champion.

Hans Gatt and Lance Mackey are the only other mushers in history to win the thousand mile race three times.

Moore also finished the race with 14 dogs on the line.

Matt Hall had another amazing run this year, finishing in second place after 10 days, 2 hours, and 46 minutes on the trail.

21 year old Quest Veteran Laura Neese took the Bronze medal spot, finishing in 10 days 4 hours, and 56 minutes.

We still have 11 mushers out on the trail after Paige Drobny scratched this morning.

She left towards Braeburn but decided to turn back and scratch at Carmacks for the health and safety of her team.

Allen Moore; 2018 Yukon Quest Champion>>: "We had a little bad, not a bad trail, but more difficult trail. Because the trail up to now, up till yesterday was fantastic. So we got this two or three inches of snow out there, it just made it a little bit slower, but we chugged right along. But winning is always good, I don't know what you say. I'll come back next year and try for four."