Lathrop's Jace Henry named Alaska Football Player of the Year

Published: Nov. 13, 2019 at 7:58 PM AKST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Association of Alaska Football Coaches named Lathrop quarterback Jace Henry Football Player of the Year after his stellar season, leading the Malemutes to a state championship game for the first time since 1985. The dual threat QB threw for 14 touchdowns and ran for 23, accounting for 37 Lathrop touchdowns in nine games.

"Jace is a 4.0 [GPA] student, he is a guy who is never in trouble, never having big problems and having that as your standard helps a lot for keeping other guys in line," Lathrop head coach Luke Balash said of Henry after the Division II State Championship game. "He has a strong presence and helps direct things and helps things be successful, that's everything from practice to during games. He really did set the standard high as far as performance and leadership, he was a big part of why we had our successes this season."

The finalists for the award were Division I Player of the Year Dhar Montalbo of West Anchorage, Henry, the DII P.O.Y. and Division III Player of the Year Owen Mulhaney of Houston High School.

Latest News

Latest News