The 'Undefeateds' headline Mid Alaska All-Conference teams

Published: Mar. 26, 2020 at 6:57 PM AKDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The season-ending awards for high school basketball continue to be distributed, as the annual state tournament, which was scheduled for March 25-28, was canceled in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The latest honors, come out of the three-team Mid Alaska Conference, where the undefeated teams were well-represented.


Headlined by freshman phenom TT Tagovailoa, the 6-0 MAC regular season champion Lathrop Malemutes had a quartet of players named to the All-Conference team. Joining Tagovailoa, Lianna Tuck, Tristain Martin and 1,000-point career scorer Ella Roberts. West Valley had a trio of players recognized, including Kira Szmyd and sisters Sheridan Blasey and Hadley Blasey. Szmyd and Hadley will be returning next season, while Sheridan, also a 1,000-point scorer, was honored her senior year.

As for North Pole, their lone representative was Alicia Guzman. The sharp shooting freshman carried the load of the offense for the Patriots and has three more years to add accolades.


There wasn't an Interior basketball program that could take down West Valley this year, including 3A opponents. The 6-0 Wolfpack had four representatives, with Cortarious Mingo, Dylan Erhart, DeMarcus Davis and Terrell Peter all receiving nods. Mingo, a junior, will be the lone All-Conference player returning next season. The Wolfpack only suffered one loss this season, coming at Dimond High School against the Lynx.

The second place Lathrop Malemutes had three honorees, featuring Jhon Rones, Ben Kraska and Tyriq Luke. Rones will be moving on next year, but Kraska, the Joe T. Classic MVP, will be returning for his senior year, while Luke just completed his sophomore campaign.

Kaden Bostwick represented the North Pole Patriots on the Mid Alaska All-Conference team.

Latest News

Latest News