Wrestlers punch tickets for state tournament

 Lathrop's Desarae Matheny pins North Pole's Emily Bellant in the 145 Denali title. (Aaron Walling/KTVF)
Lathrop's Desarae Matheny pins North Pole's Emily Bellant in the 145 Denali title. (Aaron Walling/KTVF) (KTVF)
Published: Dec. 16, 2019 at 7:45 PM AKST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

With the Denali and Mid-Alaska Regionals going down in Lathrop High School, there was plenty of highlight matches on the mats.

The top match was in the Denali Girls 145 finals between North Pole's Emily Bellant and Lathrop's Desarae Matheny. Matheny was down by five points with less than 30 seconds on the clock, and used an aggressive attack to get the pin-fall with 12 seconds left.

"I'm feeling really great especially since I took a loss to her just the other week on Senior Night,” said Matheny after her win in the finals against Bellant.“I had complete faith in myself because I knew that being down in the third period and being able to pull of that something Lathrop always trains for because we always work on our gas tanks and being able to push through those last two minutes that a lot of other teams aren't able to."

Matheny joins numerous of other Interior wrestlers who will be competing in the Alaska State Tournament that is set to start on December 20 in Anchorage.

One of those wrestlers is Elizabeth Schumaker who is representing the Patriots in the 112 Class after getting a pin-fall in the finals.

"I was kind of worried there because she was aggressive and pulling me around,” said Schumaker. “I was like what do I do with this hand fighting. I got an under-hook, saw an opportunity for an inside trip and it just worked out which is pretty lucky."

In the boys’ brackets, the Interior saw numerous winners from Lathrop and Eielson, especially in wins from Adam Jockusch and Andrew Killian-Dalrymple.

“This is my third year going into the finals match for regionals and I've taken second for the past two years so this kind of a huge deal for me stepping up." said Eielson’s Jockusch after his win in the 152.

“"It felt really good, not going to lie. It felt really good, I was getting a little tired towards the end but overall it went pretty good." said Lathrop’s Killian-Dalrymple.

Congratulations to the wrestlers who will compete in Anchorage for the 2019 Alaska State Tournament.

Denali Girls Conference Qualifiers:

103 Class:

1st Kaylana Keith Lathrop

2nd Isabella Wall Eielson

112 Class:

1st Elizabeth Schumaker North Pole

2nd Kierstyn Bockert Lathrop

119 Class:

1st Autumn Poland Lathrop

2nd Alysa Stigall Lathrop

125 Class:

1st Janice Dykes North Pole

2nd Kaitlynne Rice Hutchison

130 Class:

1st Dakota Darby North Pole

135 Class:

1st Danielle Johnson Lathrop

2nd Natasha Helmericks West Valley

145 Class:

1st Desarae Matheny Lathrop

2nd Emily Bellant North Pole

160 Class:

1st Kristy Massey North Pole

2nd Alyvia Askren Valdez

189 Class:

1st Zoe Dalrymple Lathrop

2nd Alice Brent West Valley

235 Class:

1st Debranna Bealer Eielson

2nd Megan Parrish North Pole

AL Jana Allen Valdez

Denali Boys Conference Qualifiers:

103 Class:

1st Jace Zaldivar Eielson

112 Class:

1st Evan Brown Eielson

2nd Devin McLaughlin Eielson

119 Class:

1st Keegan Dalaquito Glennallen

2nd Nathaniel Mayer Eielson

125 Class:

1st Jordan Korth Glennallen

2nd Rion Fultze Glennallen

130 Class:

1st Alex Buck Glennallen

2nd Sylvin Carter Eielson

135 Class:

1st Weston Slatter Su-Valley

2nd Jakob Rosenthal Hutchison

140 Class:

1st Joshua Baird Eielson

2nd Isaiah Hoffman Glennallen

AL Orrin Hicks Delta Junction

145 Class:

1st Aengus Bancroft Glennallen

2nd Steven Warren Delta Junction

AL Adaon Charlie Galena

152 Class:

1st Adam Jockusch Eielson

2nd Austin Cramerr Glennallen

AL Harrisen Wall Eielson

160 Class:

1st Moses Korth Glennallen

2nd Leonard Lovett Delta Junction

AL Zach Wiggins Delta Junction

AL Ronald Waska Galena

171 Class:

1st Dalton Pinard Su-Valley

2nd Seth Briesmeister Hutchison

AL David Scott Glennallen

189 Class:

1st Kael Gerlach Glennallen

2nd Kyle Henderson Valdez

215 Class:

1st Nephi Tidwell Eielson

2nd Colton Guptill Hutchison

285 Class:

1st Dennis Mott Valdez

2nd Kalen Moore Hutchison

Mid-Alaska Boys Conference Qualifiers:

103 Class:

1st Andrew Killian-Dalrymple Lathrop

2nd Kolton Roedel North Pole

3rd Andrew Dosland West Valley

112 Class:

1st Robert Lechuga Porras Lathrop

2nd Aaron Peterson Lathrop

3rd Hayden McCumby North Pole

119 Class:

1st Jeremy Bockert Lathrop

2nd Chase Valentine West Valley

3rd Zadock Hawkins West Valley

125 Class:

1st Colton Parduhn Lathrop

2nd Garrett Bourne Lathrop

3rd Kai Clein West Valley

130 Class:

1st Darinn Peterson North Pole

2nd Aaron Johnson Lathrop

3rd Tommy Bourne Lathrop

135 Class:

1st Jacob Johnson Lathrop

2nd Kawaiola Patterson Lathrop

3rd Zeffrre Koberrnuss North Pole

140 Class:

1st William Poland Lathrop

2nd David Weimer Lathrop

3rd Destin Kohler North Pole

145 Class:

1st Kobe Ames Lathrop

2nd Isaac Coon West Valley

3rd Freddy Matheson West Valley

152 Class:

1st James Opp Lathrop

2nd Kyle Stolz North Pole

3rd Ian Arnold West Valley

160 Class:

1st Josiah Opp Lathrop

2nd Via Skipps North Pole

3rd Jesse Schnabel West Valley

171 Class:

1st Sage Martin Lathrop

2nd Jerry Perkins Lathrop

3rd Patrick McKee West Valley

189 Class:

1st Peter Macchione West Valley

2nd Mark Fisher North Pole

3rd Sam Lester Lathrop

215 Class:

1st Sean Michel Lathrop

2nd Aaron Conwell West Valley

3rd Daniel Conley North Pole

285 Class:

1st Shaun Conwell West Valley

2nd Noah Curtis Lathrop

3rd Ernest Hollcraft Lathrop

Latest News

Latest News